Book Review: Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan

 

  • Title: Tell the Wind and Fire
  • Author/s: Sarah Rees Brennan
  • Publisher/Imprint: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Children’s Book Group
  • Publication Date: April 05, 2016
  • ISBN: 9780544318175
  • Genre: Teens & YA
  • ARC Source: Net Galley
  • Rating: 4/5 ✭✭✭✭

cooltext164618441639585

I like Lucie because unlike other dystopian heroines who are extraordinarily fearless, she’s not and that’s what makes her totally relatable and real but uhmmn, I am not an Ethan fan like, at all. Do you wanna know who I totally root for which I think y’all would love as well?  Carwyn. Our typical bad boy who’s sarcastic, snarky but cute and mysterious. Now, I really wished we’d know him more in the book.

Fact: I am not a huge fan of dystopian books because most of them have the same story lines. Societies divided into two opposing groups, one being the ruling class and the other being the slave class. This book is no difference but that doesn’t stop my excitement from discovering what new world SRB has in stored for us. Sooo…Magic. Aside from my obvious adoration for Carwyn, it’s one thing that stopped me from putting the book down and pulling out from the story entirely because duh, I love magic. Here, we will be introduced to an alternate New York City which is divided into two – the Dark and Light City. The fact that this is A Tale of Two Cities retelling would give readers some level of predictability but I want to laud SRB for giving it a unique touch but at the same time not going far off from the story which it is originally based from. Based on how the Cities were visualized, I tell you, this is one of those books that would totally look so much better on the big screen than in our imaginations.

Bad government, revolution, two sides with conflicting beliefs and a “war” resulting from the need for revenge, I think, was already expected from the book and before you know it, it’s happening. There are times that I got lost in the story and I was like “wait, what just happen?” and maybe that’s one downside that I can note on the book. Too much is happening all at once and when I finished it, I realized that the story was too fast-paced. I wished we’ve gotten ample time to divulge more on the events in the book and know the Cities in details. Nevertheless, overall, it’s a very enticing story that surprisingly, will give you so much feels and emotions which would probably, just probably inspire you to read the classic story which this is based from. I had so much expectation from this book and I’m glad that SRB gave justice to it considering this is a modern retelling of one of my favourite classics.

Happy Reading!

Honeycomb

One thought on “Book Review: Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan

Thoughts? :)

