Confess

Confess by Colleen Hoover

synopsis

Confess Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

review

After reading my first Colleen Hoover book which was Maybe Someday, I thought perhaps what I felt after I read it was just a one-time sentiment but after I read Confess, it’s decided that Colleen Hoover just became one of my favorite authors. She has this way of writing that is heart-warming and heart-wrenching at the same time. Her books have an added Colleen Hoover layer to it which would keep you wanting more after reading them. I’m not only talking about a sequel to the book but also a whole new story with a Colleen Hoover touch to it. That’s exactly what I felt right after reading Confess.

I was into the first few pages and my heart was already hurting and I was just like, how could she do this and how much more can she offer when I was already a mess at the start of the book? The story was introduced with high intensity and I was initially afraid that it will just go down from there but it did not and it now seemed to be the only perfect way to make readers hold onto the book until the very end.

Auburn was in dire need of a job when she got offered one by Owen, one that pretty much paid more than enough. When stopping in front of a studio covered in anonymous people’s confessions, she never thought things would turn out the way they did. Both Auburn and Owen are perfectly written characters. The way Colleen Hoover introduced both of them as we read along was just perfect. Just the right amount of themselves at the right time. They don’t have a steamy romance but even a kiss would bring so much anticipation and emotion to the readers, always pulling out all the romantic stops at the right time.

This book is something else, in a very good way of something else. There’s the art that was exclusively collaborated with the story, literally, and it just brought this book to a whole new level. It’s an account of survival, courage, surprising chances, destiny, confessions, lies, and love. Of course, it’s not a Colleen Hoover book if there’s no plot twist, and when it happened, it ripped my heart to pieces just to bring it back together in just a matter of seconds to make me breathe better. A new character was introduced in the later part of the book which would make a huge impact on both Auburn’s and Owen’s lives and I love that character so so much! When it comes to the ending, it was perfectly laid out. An ending that would make you contemplate of the odds between two people who have the same middle names, who lived separately throughout their lives but was later on brought together by the same past. I hope I’m making any sense at all because my thoughts are still all over the place right now and I wish I could tell you more about the story but go ahead, read the book and see it for yourself. I’m positive you’ll love this book as much as I do.

Rating: 4.5/5 ✯✯✯✯✯

Honeycomb

Thoughts? :)

