My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

synopsis

10917Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate — a life and a role that she has never challenged… until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister—and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves.
A provocative novel that raises some important ethical issues,My Sister’s Keeper is the story of one family’s struggle for survival at all human costs and a stunning parable for all time.

review

I could think of many books with very interesting plot twists and most of them are thrillers so I tried to think of another book that has been somehow memorable and here it is, My Sister’s Keeper. The movie was so heart-wrenching which by the way, I’ve watched before I read the book. The movie was great that it gives so much justice to the book. There is Cameron Diaz and Thomas Dekker, which I’m more familiar to. It was so funny since around that time, I recently watched Bad Teacher and I was also following The Secret Circle Series and if you have watched those, you can see how their roles differ from that of My Sister’s Keeper. Versatile actors, I say. I didn’t know first that it was based on a book so when I discovered about it, I wanted to read it. I always have this stereotype that books are always better than movies due to time constraints and everything and since I loved the movie, I thought of how much more would I love the story if I know every small details of it, you know? And I read it, read it again and again. I can’t think of the most appropriate word to describe the story but it’s just amazing. Picoult’s books, I heard since I haven’t got the chance to read the rest of the books myself as of writing, always have this kind of twists so I’m looking forward to read them sooner. If you haven’t seen the movie yet, go buy a DVD copy! Watch it and you’ll not regret it or you can read the book and cry your heart out. 🙂

3.8/5   ✯✯✯✯

Honeycomb

Thoughts? :)

